Taking that make-up downtown!

And when I say downtown, I mean your neck.

In my most recent make-up class, my teacher began docking points off of the student’s looks because they weren’t applying foundation and powders to their neck area. At first, I thought he was being ridiculous, but after applying foundation and powder to my neck, I found out what he was talking about. Now I’m going to get in depth here about the neck area.

I’m pretty sure about 3 out of every 5 women don’t care for their neck as much as they should. I was one of those women so I know where I made the mistakes.

Mistake number one!

When I would wash my face, I would ignore my neck area. Don’t get me wrong, when I shower I would wash my neck, but unless your wearing a turtle neck all the time, your neck gets extremely dirty. Along with washing your neck area, you should also apply toner and moisturize that area! This helps over time when you begin aging as well.

Mistake number dos!

Forgetting to take the foundation down the neck! Now, I know you’re supposed to buy foundation that matches your neck color, but a lot of times, ladies don’t do that. Instead, lightly take some foundation down the neck and blend in. In doing so, you have a more even complexion not only on your face, but going down your neck as well.

Mistake number three plus tip!

Now I know that we all contour and high light in different ways. Each of us has our own face shape and our own idea of what is good contouring. I’m not saying that ladies are getting the contouring area wrong, but they are getting the shape wrong. Especially the neck area.

Example 1

Mistake: When contouring the cheekbones, a straight line is made from ear to the mouth.

Fix: Poke around your cheek until you find the hinge between your jaws. Start there and then slightly curve under the apple of your cheeks and blend.  This creates a more natural contour.

Example 2

Mistake: Contouring the nose bridge too low and too thick. If contoured too high, you get the appearance of a very large nose, with a thick contour along the sides, you are actually widening your nose.

Fix: Draw a thin line from the top of the nose bridge (the area where your forehead dips down to meet your nose), down to the beginning of the nostril. Lightly blend down. This creates a straighter, thinner nose.

Example 3

Mistake: Contouring along the jawline.

Fix: For a slender jawline and no double chin, contour underneath the jawline and lightly highlight the jawline. The contour underneath the jawline with help hide a double chin, while the highlight focuses on your best features. Take the contour down the neck for a more thinner neck.

So ladies, say it with me! “I solemnly swear I will start paying more attention to my neck!”

Hope this helps you out!

XOXO

-Ashe

 

Leave a Reply

