The Magic of Make-Up

Hello my Bon-Bons! Today I am making a very quick post on how much you can really do with make-up. When most people(mainly guys) think of make-up, they think of girls who have caked on make-up with tacky drawn on eye brows and ugly hoochie red lips and nasty spider legs eye lashes! Excuse my while I shiver. Ugh.

Anyway so most people think of that. Only the bad stuff. But today I showed my girlfriends the simple changes you can do with make-up that look natural yet enhanced. I will use my friend, Dino as an example. (Names have been changed to protect the identity of this individual) So Dino has a a huge issue with acne. She hates it when she is breaking out and to make matter worse, she likes to pick at her pimples causing the skin to tear and leaving her acne scars. Another bad thing she does is pack on globs of make-up just to hide her acne, only causing her to break out even more. So as her friend, today i spent hours showing her right from wrong.

First thing I had her do, completely wash her face. That’s the secret to wonderful skin. Wash. Next I told her how applying too much make-up with out a primer can really damage the skin. So I applied a nice layer of primer, and then proceeded to apply her foundation. I used a small amount of foundation, dotting it around her face and then using a cosmetic sponge to blend everything out. I wish I could show you guys before and after pictures but not yet. Anyway, because I didn’t slather on the foundation, she had a nice even layer of full coverage foundation which helped to even out her skin tone and hide most of her blemishes. Because it wasn’t all cakey, her pimples didn’t stand out as much. Next I buffed in a small amount of mineral powder for extra coverage. She never really wore eye shadows, so defined her brows a bit, did a nice wing liner, added a soft berry color to her cheeks and finished off with a deep red lip.

Once she saw the finished products in the mirror, she was shocked at how natural she looked while still hiding all her acne. I guess what I’m trying to say is, make-up is a powerful thing. With only a little bit, you can completely change your image. If I wanted to go even further I would have contoured her nose and cheekbones and added highlight for an even more all around radiance.  But she was happy the way it was so if she is happy, I am happy.

Say it with me ladies, NO MORE SPIDER LEGS!

-Ashe

Leave a Reply

